2021-2022


Juanita Westmoreland-Traoré : a groundbreaking pioneer

By Pierre-Luc Beauchesne, lawyer

(Article published on August 17, 2021)


The Medal of the Bar of Montreal will be awarded to Ms. Juanita Westmoreland-Traoré, retired Quebec Court judge, at the Rentrée judiciaire, on September 9, in recognition of her exceptional contribution to the cause of justice. Throughout her rich and varied career, she has fought against racial and ethnic discrimination and steadfastly defended women's rights. Below is a short portrait of a groundbreaking pioneer who has blazed a trail for future generations.

Juanita Westmoreland-Traoré was born and raised in Verdun. Strongly inspired by the US civil rights movement, she pursued law studies at the Université de Montréal (1963-1966) before obtaining a doctorate in public law and administrative sciences from the University of Paris II (1972). While working on her own a few months after being admitted to the profession in 1969, she represented ten defendants in the case of the infamous student demonstration at Sir George Williams University. From 1970 to 1976, she practised with Mergler, Melançon, Bless and represented, among others, racialized clients accused of assaulting police officers or resisting arrest.

Ms. Westmoreland-Traoré taught at Université de Montréal’s Faculty of Law from 1972 to 1976 and at UQAM’s Law Department from 1976 to 1985. During this time, she also worked for the Quebec government and was a member of the Quebec Consumer Protection Office from 1979 to 1983. Between 1983 and 1985, she was a part-time Commissioner of the Canadian Human Rights Commission.

In 1985, she helped set up the Conseil des communautés culturelles et de l'immigration, of which she was the first Chair. Within this organization, she developed studies and formulated opinions on Quebec's immigration policies for the Ministry of Cultural Communities and Immigration. After her term ended in 1990, she was appointed Chair of the Ontario Pay Equity Commission, a position she held from 1991 to 1995. After serving as a United Nations advisor to the Truth and Justice Commission in Haiti in 1995, she became Dean of the University of Windsor’s Faculty of Law the following year, a position she held for three years.

In 1999, Ms. Westmoreland-Traoré was appointed to the Court of Québec, becoming the first person of African descent to be appointed to the bench in Quebec. She retired in 2012 but continued to serve as a substitute judge until 2017. The Honourable Westmoreland-Traoré considers her appointment to the bench as the most significant moment of her atypical and multifaceted career. As a judge, she always strove to understand the reality of the person in front of her and render proportionate sentences.

In recognition of her exceptional contribution to society, she has been awarded numerous distinctions over the years. In 1991, she was made an Officer of the Ordre national du Québec. She was awarded honorary doctorates from the University of Ottawa (1993), UQAM (2001) and McGill University (2018). She has also received other awards, including the Canadian Bar Association's Touchstone Award in 2005 and the Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse’s Rights and Freedoms Award in 2008.

Ms. Westmoreland-Traoré has always fought for a more inclusive and diverse profession. She considers that we must continue to promote rapprochement and integration to live in an even more harmonious society. Everyone must have a chance, and nothing should ever be taken for granted. Although she sees some improvement, she hopes that progress will continue, as discrimination is still present, albeit in more subtle forms.

Even now that she’s retired, Ms. Westmoreland-Traoré remains committed and involved with her community, including Centraide Montreal, the Ligue des droits et libertés, the Congress of Black Women of Canada and the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund.

For more information on the future Medal of the Bar of Montreal recipient, click here to watch the Bar of Montreal and Young Bar of Montreal’s video “Towards a More Representative Profession – Retired Quebec Court Judge Juanita Westmoreland-Traoré.”

The Medal of the Bar of Montreal is awarded by the Council, after consultation with the Conference of former Bâtonnier, to persons, members or not of the Bar, who have distinguished themselves by their contribution to the cause of justice. Click here to see the list of previous recipients.

2021-2022




Mme Juanita Westmoreland-Traoré : une grande pionnière

Par Pierre-Luc Beauchesne, avocat

(Article diffusé le 17 août 2021)


Le 9 septembre prochain, lors de la Rentrée judiciaire, la Médaille du Barreau de Montréal sera remise à Mme Juanita Westmoreland-Traoré, juge de la Cour du Québec à la retraite, afin de souligner sa contribution exceptionnelle à la cause de la justice. Tout au long de sa carrière, riche en expériences variées, elle a combattu la discrimination raciale et ethnique et a toujours lutté pour les droits des femmes. Voici un court portrait d’une grande pionnière qui a tracé des voies pour les prochaines générations.

Mme Westmoreland-Traoré est née et a grandi à Verdun. Fortement influencée par le mouvement des droits civiques aux États-Unis, elle fait ses études en droit à l’Université de Montréal (1963-1966) avant d’obtenir un doctorat d'État en droit public et sciences administratives de l'Université de Paris II (1972). En 1969, quelques mois après avoir été reçue dans la profession, alors qu’elle travaille à son compte, elle représente 10 accusés dans l’affaire de la tristement célèbre manifestation étudiante à l’Université Sir-George-Williams. De 1970 à 1976, elle pratique au sein du cabinet Mergler, Melançon, Bless où elle représente notamment des clients racisés accusés de voies de fait contre des policiers ou de résistance à l’arrestation.

Mme Westmoreland-Traoré enseigne à la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Montréal de 1972 à 1976 et au Département des sciences juridiques de l’UQAM de 1976 à 1985. Pendant ces années, elle travaille aussi pour le gouvernement du Québec et est membre de l'Office de protection des consommateurs du Québec de 1979 à 1983. Entre 1983 et 1985, elle est commissaire, à temps partiel, à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne.

En 1985, elle contribue à mettre sur pied le Conseil des communautés culturelles et de l’immigration dont elle a été la première présidente. Au sein de cet organisme, elle est chargée d’élaborer des études et de formuler des avis sur les politiques d’immigration du Québec auprès du ministère des Communautés culturelles et de l’Immigration. Après la fin de son mandat en 1990, elle est nommée présidente de la Commission d’équité en matière d’emploi de l’Ontario, poste qu’elle exerce de 1991 à 1995. Après avoir été conseillère des Nations Unies auprès de la Commission de vérité et de justice en Haïti, en 1995, elle devient, l’année suivante, doyenne de la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Windsor, fonction qu’elle occupe pendant trois ans.

En 1999, Mme Westmoreland-Traoré est nommée juge à la Cour du Québec et devient ainsi la première personne noire à accéder à la magistrature au Québec. Elle prend sa retraite en 2012, mais continue à siéger à titre de juge surnuméraire jusqu’en 2017. Pour Mme Westmoreland-Traoré, sa nomination à la magistrature a été l’élément le plus significatif de sa carrière au parcours atypique et composite. À titre de juge, elle a toujours tenté de saisir et comprendre la réalité de la personne devant elle et de rendre des sentences proportionnelles à cette personne.

Afin de souligner sa contribution exceptionnelle à la société, de nombreuses distinctions lui ont été décernées au cours des années. En 1991, elle a été reçue officière de l’Ordre national du Québec. L’Université d’Ottawa, en 1993, l’UQAM, en 2001, et l’Université McGill, en 2018, lui ont chacune décerné un doctorat honorifique. Elle a aussi reçu plusieurs prix, dont le Prix « Les assises » de l’Association du Barreau canadien en 2005 et le Prix « Droits et Libertés » de la Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse en 2008.

Mme Westmoreland-Traoré a toujours lutté pour une profession plus inclusive et diversifiée. Pour elle, il faut continuer de favoriser le rapprochement et l’intégration, et ce, pour pouvoir vivre dans une société encore plus harmonieuse : tous doivent avoir leur chance et on ne doit jamais rien tenir pour acquis. Bien qu’elle dénote une certaine amélioration, elle souhaite que les avancées se poursuivent, car la discrimination est encore bien présente, mais sous des formes plus subtiles.

Même à la retraite, Mme Westmoreland-Traoré est toujours engagée et continue à s’investir dans sa communauté, notamment au sein de Centraide Montréal, de la Ligue des droits et libertés, du Congrès des femmes noires du Canada et du Fonds d’action et d’éducation juridiques pour les femmes.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la future lauréate, revoyez la capsule vidéo présentée par le Barreau de Montréal et le Jeune Barreau de Montréal « Vers une profession plus représentative — Madame Juanita Westmoreland-Traoré, juge de la Cour du Québec à la retraite » en cliquant ici.

La Médaille du Barreau de Montréal est attribuée par le Conseil, après consultation de la Conférence des anciens bâtonniers, à des personnes membres ou non du Barreau, qui se sont signalées par leur contribution à la cause de la justice. Pour connaître les récipiendaires antérieurs, vous pouvez cliquer ici.