Word from the Bâtonnier


ANOTHER STEP TOWARDS A MORE INCLUSIVE BARREAU 

Hello and welcome to the Bar of Montreal’s official website.

On May 10th, 2017 during the Bar of Montreal’s annual general meeting, I commenced my mandate as the 152nd Bâtonnier of Montreal.  

Inspired by the lessons drawn from the recent past and the consequent successes that followed, I was inspired to dedicate my bâtonnat under the theme of Un Barreau inclusif, wishing to look forward to constructing the Bar of tomorrow. My perspective is that even though the Bar of Montreal has existed for 168 years, it must continue its efforts in adapting to the structural, cultural and societal changes in order to reflect the rich diversity that is Montreal.

The Inclusive Barreau, to which I aspire, entails a detailed examination of the legal community and to further develop, in collaboration with a number of affiliated committees and organizations, a strategic action and communication plan which, among others, permits:

  • helping young lawyers overcome the obstacles they face in the attainment of both interesting and stimulating employment opportunities ;
  • highlighting the ever growing success of women in the profession in order to increase their rate of retention ;
  • maximizing the enormous potential within the ethnic and cultural communities by increasing their representation throughout the multiple levels of government to further echo this diversity in the workplace ;
  • continue in our efforts to eliminate the invisible walls which impede the progress of those lawyers who identify as part of the LGBTQ community ; and
  • helping lawyers in distress by raising awareness within the legal profession to the problems surrounding mental health in order to confront these taboos and further encourage lawyers to aptly detect the earliest symptoms of mental distress, or better yet, to develop practices that reduce the challenge of mental health in our profession ;

In addition to the aforementioned priorities, I intend to continue the work of my predecessors pertaining to the revision and improvement of the English language version of the Civil Code of Procedure as well as improving the current procedure relating to the adoption of laws in Quebec.

Finally, the Bar of Montreal has recently purchased new premises to provide its administrative services, the Council will work diligently alongside the teams in place in the interest of ensuring that this new premises better accommodates the present and future needs of this section.

I hope that during my time as Bâtonnier of the Bar of Montreal we will be able to have and indeed create a truly more inclusive Bar.

Happy surfing !

BRIAN R. MITCHELL, Bâtonnier

Mot du bâtonnier


UN PAS DE PLUS VERS UN BARREAU INCLUSIF

Bonjour et bienvenue sur le site Web du Barreau de Montréal.

C’est lors de l’assemblée générale annuelle du Barreau de Montréal du 10 mai 2017 que j’ai entrepris mon mandat à titre de 152e bâtonnier de Montréal.

Inspiré par les leçons tirées d’un passé relativement récent et des succès qui en ont découlés, j’ai choisi d’inscrire mon bâtonnat sous le thème Un Barreau inclusif, souhaitant ainsi regarder vers l’avenir et travailler à bâtir le barreau de demain. Selon moi, le Barreau de Montréal, bien que fort de ses 168 ans d’existence, doit poursuivre ses efforts pour promouvoir l’adaptation aux changements structurels, culturels et sociétaux afin de refléter la richesse de la diversité montréalaise.

Le Barreau inclusif auquel j’aspire implique d’examiner la communauté juridique et d’élaborer, en collaboration avec les divers comités et organismes affiliés, une stratégie qui, entre autres, permettra :

  • d’aider les jeunes avocates et avocats à faire face aux défis qui les attendent dans la recherche d’opportunités d’emplois intéressants et stimulants
  • de faire rayonner le succès grandissant des femmes dans la profession afin d’améliorer leur taux de rétention
  • de maximiser le potentiel énorme que constitue la diversité ethnique et culturelle par des représentations auprès des diverses instances afin que l’embauche reflète cette diversité
  • de contribuer à faire tomber les barrières invisibles qui freinent le progrès de ceux et celles qui s’identifient comme avocats LGBTQ
  • d’aider les avocates et avocats en détresse en sensibilisant la communauté juridique aux problèmes de santé mentale, afin de combattre les tabous et inciter les avocats à être aux aguets pour détecter les premiers symptômes ou, mieux encore, les prévenir.

En plus de ces priorités, j’entends poursuivre le travail amorcé par mes prédécesseurs quant à l’amélioration de la version anglaise du Code de procédure civile et du processus d’adoption des lois au Québec.

Enfin, le Barreau de Montréal ayant fait l’acquisition d’un nouvel emplacement pour ses services administratifs, le Conseil travaillera avec les équipes en place afin que ces nouveaux locaux satisfassent les besoins actuels et futurs de la section.

J’espère ainsi que mon passage comme bâtonnier de Montréal permettra à l’institution de faire un pas de plus vers un Barreau inclusif.

Bonne navigation !

BRIAN R. MITCHELL, bâtonnier