2019-2020


Éducaloi

Éducaloi Makes It Clear!
By Pierre-Luc Beauchesne, lawyer
(Article published on August 20, 2019)

On September 5, 2019, during the Ceremony of the Rentrée judiciaire, the Medal of the Bar of Montreal will be awarded to Éducaloi, in recognition of its outstanding contribution to the cause of justice. For Mr. Bâtonnier Alexandre Forest of the Bar of Montreal, presenting his organization’s top award to Éducaloi meshes perfectly with the theme of the ceremony. According to Mtre. Forest: “challenging the established order and placing the litigant at the heart of every initiative is precisely what Éducaloi has been doing every day for the past 20 years.”

Who among you has not heard of Éducaloi? It is Québec’s undisputed leader in providing legal information and education services for laypersons and intermediaries in the legal, educational and community sectors. This charitable organization, which will celebrate its 20th anniversary next March, receives more than six million visits to its website every year, and boasts more than 40,000 followers on its social platforms (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube).

Launched as an initiative of the Barreau du Québec in the wake of Prof. Roderick A. MacDonald’s 1991 report on access to justice, Éducaloi’s mission has always been to provide members of the public with clear and user-friendly information related to the law and their rights and obligations. Éducaloi has come a long way since it was established in 2000, and with a staff of close to 30 professionals in various fields, it continues to help Québec society to take concrete steps aimed at improving access to the law and to justice. It is important to underscore the extraordinary work done by Mtre. Nathalie Roy, Co-Founder of Éducaloi, who also served as Executive Director until February 2017 and is largely responsible for the organization’s success and reputation. In 2014, in recognition of her dedication to the cause of justice, Mtre. Roy received the Award of Merit from the Barreau du Québec, along with the title of Avocate émérite (Ad. E.).

Éducaloi is much more than a website with articles pertaining to legal issues. In fact, the organization’s mission goes beyond merely furnishing legal information to include legal educational services. According to Mtre. Ariane Charbonneau, Executive Director of Éducaloi: “Legal education is much more than simply learning about existing legislation. It involves making citizens aware of the legal aspects of daily life and helping them to acquire the skills they need to exercise their rights. Legally well-educated individuals are better equipped to make informed decisions and resolve conflicts, thereby avoiding legal problems. This is in keeping with the spirit of the new Code of Civil Procedure.” In other words, Éducaloi’s goal is to ensure that people have access to the law, and more specifically, the rules of law (or the “rules of the game” for life in our society), so that they can find their way (the information component) while developing the skills to do so effectively (the educational component)! In other words, legal information and education go hand in hand.

Although it is citizens who are the main focus of its efforts, Éducaloi also offers help for legal experts within their organizations, along with private, public and parapublic institutions, in terms of honing their ability to explain the law clearly and improving their communication tools. For example, imagine using plain language in standardized letters to give litigants a better idea of what is expected of them. Having become an expert in this field, Éducaloi shares its knowledge and experience in the area of legal communication with key stakeholders. As Mtre. Charbonneau points out, “Éducaloi seeks to convey its strength and expertise to other actors in the legal field, and to work with them so that they can become even more effective in their role as communicators. Of course, the ultimate goal is to reach as many citizens as possible, and to promote better access to the law and to justice.”

Éducaloi was among the first proponents of the movement for plain legal language in Québec. According to its website: “‘Plain legal language means communicating the law in language that is easy to understand.’ This means reworking legal concepts and the structure of legal thinking so that laypersons can understand their rights and responsibilities.” It was from this perspective that Éducaloi hosted the 7th edition of the international biannual Clarity Conference on Plain Legal Language in October 2018. The conference, held in Québec for the first time, welcomed more than 500 participants from 20 countries, highlighting the importance and relevance of this movement.

Nothing could be more natural for Éducaloi than promoting plain legal language, especially since better access to the law corresponds with clear and effective communication. As Mtre. Charbonneau says, “the real challenge is to be as clear as possible while maintaining legal rigour and accuracy. Above all, there can be no clear communication without empathy and a real effort and interest in understanding what others are thinking. As lawyers, if we are truly committed to helping our clients, we must ensure that they understand us, and that they in turn are understood!”

Despite Éducaloi’s excellent standing and reputation, it must constantly seek funding while also relying on the aid and assistance of the legal community to carry out its mission and projects. In October 2018, Éducaloi launched its “500 Days for Justice” fundraising campaign, with a target of $250,000. The campaign is chaired by the Hon. Marie Deschamps, the Hon. François Rolland and Mtre. Kim Thomassin. You can donate by clicking here: educaloi500jours.ca/don.

We can all take pride in the work done by Éducaloi, which in its own ways, in addition to contributing to better access to the law and to justice, helps to improve the image of lawyers and our profession.

2019-2020


Éducaloi
 
Éducaloi : C’est clair !

Par Pierre-Luc Beauchesne, avocat
(Article diffusé le 20 août 2019)

Le 5 septembre prochain, lors de la cérémonie de la Rentrée judiciaire, la Médaille du Barreau de Montréal sera remise à Éducaloi, en reconnaissance de sa contribution exceptionnelle à la cause de la justice. Pour le bâtonnier de Montréal, Me Alexandre Forest, la remise de la plus haute distinction du Barreau de Montréal à Éducaloi cadre parfaitement avec le thème retenu pour cette rentrée. Selon le bâtonnier, « remettre en question l’ordre établi et placer le justiciable au cœur de chacune de ses interventions, c’est très exactement ce que fait Éducaloi jour après jour, depuis 20 ans ».

Qui parmi vous ne connaît pas Éducaloi ? Éducaloi, c’est la référence incontournable en matière d’information et d’éducation juridiques au Québec, et ce, autant auprès des citoyens que des intermédiaires des milieux juridique, scolaire et communautaire. Cet organisme de bienfaisance, qui fêtera ses 20 ans en mars prochain, reçoit plus de six millions de visites annuellement sur son site Internet, alors que ses différentes plateformes sociales (vous pouvez suivre Éducaloi sur Facebook, Twitter, Instagram et YouTube) comptent plus de 40 000 abonnés.

Né à la suite d’une initiative du Barreau du Québec, dans la foulée du rapport du Professeur Roderick A. MacDonald sur l’accessibilité à la justice en 1991, Éducaloi s’est toujours donné pour mission d’informer le public sur la loi, sur ses droits et ses obligations, le tout de façon claire et accessible. Depuis sa création en 2000, Éducaloi a parcouru bien du chemin et continue de contribuer, avec son équipe de près de 30 professionnels multidisciplinaires, à faire du Québec une société qui agit de façon concrète pour améliorer l’accès au droit et à la justice. On ne peut que souligner le travail incroyable de Me Nathalie Roy, cofondatrice d’Éducaloi, qui a été sa directrice générale jusqu’en février 2017 et qui est en grande partie responsable de son succès et de sa notoriété. En 2014, Me Roy a reçu le Mérite du Barreau du Québec et la distinction Avocate émérite (Ad. E.), afin de souligner son dévouement à la cause de la justice.

Éducaloi est beaucoup plus qu’un site Internet et des capsules juridiques. En fait, la mission d’Éducaloi dépasse la simple transmission de l’information juridique pour s’étendre à l’éducation juridique. Comme l’explique Me Ariane Charbonneau, directrice générale d’Éducaloi, « l’éducation juridique va bien au-delà de l’apprentissage des lois en vigueur et vise à sensibiliser les citoyens aux dimensions juridiques du quotidien et à développer chez eux des aptitudes pour leur permettre d’exercer leurs droits. Ainsi, une personne bien éduquée juridiquement pourra plus facilement prendre une décision éclairée, régler une situation conflictuelle et ainsi éviter des problèmes juridiques, ce qui s’inscrit parfaitement dans l’esprit du nouveau Code de procédure civile. » En d’autres mots, Éducaloi souhaite que les gens aient accès au droit, plus précisément aux règles de droit (les « règles du jeu » de notre vie en société), afin qu’ils soient en mesure de s’y retrouver (l’aspect « information »), tout en développant les habiletés nécessaires pour bien jouer (l’aspect « éducation ») ! Information et éducation juridiques vont donc de pair.

Bien que le citoyen soit au centre de ses actions, Éducaloi est également présent pour aider les juristes au sein de leur organisation, et les institutions privées, publiques et parapubliques, à développer leurs habiletés en communication claire du droit et à améliorer leurs outils de communication. Pensons, par exemple, à la simplification de modèles de lettres, qui permet au justiciable de mieux comprendre ce qui est attendu de lui. Devenu un expert dans son domaine, Éducaloi partage ainsi ses connaissances et acquis en matière de communication juridique avec les intervenants de première ligne. Comme le souligne Me Charbonneau, « Éducaloi veut transmettre sa force et son expertise aux autres acteurs du milieu juridique et travailler avec eux pour qu’ils se sentent encore plus efficaces dans leur rôle de communicateur. Le but ultime est évidemment de rejoindre un maximum de citoyens et de favoriser un meilleur accès au droit et à la justice. »

Au Québec, Éducaloi a été un des premiers instigateurs du mouvement du langage clair en droit. Comme on peut le lire sur son site Internet, « le ‘langage clair en droit’ est une expression qui signifie ‘communiquer le droit de façon claire et efficace’. Il s’agit d’adapter les mots et les concepts juridiques, de même que la structure de pensée juridique, pour qu’une personne non-juriste puisse comprendre ses droits et ses obligations. » C’est dans cet esprit qu’en octobre 2018, Éducaloi a présenté la 7e édition du colloque international biennal Clarity, consacré à la clarté des communications juridiques. Ce colloque, qui s’est tenu pour la première fois au Québec, a accueilli plus de 500 participants provenant de 20 pays, ce qui démontre l’intérêt et la pertinence de ce mouvement.

Rien n’est plus naturel pour Éducaloi que de promouvoir l’importance d’un langage clair en matière juridique, d’autant plus qu’un meilleur accès au droit va de pair avec le fait de communiquer de façon claire et efficace. Comme le mentionne Me Charbonneau, « le véritable défi est d’être le plus clair possible, tout en conservant la rigueur et la précision juridique. Et surtout, il n’y a pas de communication claire sans empathie, sans véritable effort et intérêt de comprendre dans quel état d’esprit notre interlocuteur se trouve. En tant qu’avocat, si on a vraiment comme préoccupation d’aider la personne qui nous consulte, il faut s’assurer que les gens nous comprennent… et soient compris ! »

Malgré sa crédibilité et sa notoriété, le financement reste une responsabilité constante pour Éducaloi. Pour mener à bien sa mission et ses projets, il doit également compter sur l’aide et l’appui de notre communauté juridique. En octobre dernier, Éducaloi a lancé sa campagne de financement « 500 jours pour la justice », dont l’objectif est d’amasser 250 000 $, et ce, sous la présidence de l’honorable Marie Deschamps, de l’honorable François Rolland et de Me Kim Thomassin. Pour faire un don vous pouvez cliquer sur le lien suivant : https://educaloi500jours.ca/don.

Soyons tous fiers du travail d’Éducaloi qui, en plus de contribuer à un meilleur accès au droit et à la justice, permet à sa façon d’améliorer l’image des avocats et de notre profession.