2008-2009 Honorable Georges P. Vanier


MAJOR-GÉNÉRAL
LE TRÈS HONORABLE GEORGES P. VANIER
(1888-1967) À TITRE POSTHUME

images/Photos/MedaillesMerites/VANIER.General Georges P. Vanier was a national hero who earned international renown. He had an illustrious career, but very few Canadians know that he first worked in Montreal as a lawyer.  Indeed, it was his training in law, combined with profound personal faith, that drove his passion for social justice.

Among his many achievements, it should be noted that 1959, he became the first French Canadian Governor General, that he had an impressive diplomatic career from 1928 to 1953 and that, during the World War I, he left the practice of law to found the 22nd Battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Force, which in 1920 became the Royal 22nd Regiment that recently served in Afghanistan.

Granting the highest distinction of the Bar of Montreal to General Vanier is an act of solidarity with the soldiers serving their country abroad and an act of compassion for all the Québec families who have lost a dear one in Afghanistan during the tour of duty of the Royal 22nd Regiment.

The Bâtonnier of Montréal is proud to honor this brilliant career, dedicated to the cause of justice, by presenting Georges P. Vanier with the Medal of the Bar of Montréal, on behalf of all members.

 

 

RELATED SECTION

2008-2009 Honorable Georges P. Vanier


MAJOR-GÉNÉRAL
LE TRÈS HONORABLE GEORGES P. VANIER
(1888-1967) À TITRE POSTHUME

images/Photos/MedaillesMerites/VANIER.Le Général Georges P. Vanier a été un héros national et un personnage de renommée internationale. Il a eu un illustre parcours, mais très peu de Canadiens savent que c’est d’abord comme avocat qu’il a amorcé sa carrière à Montréal. C’est d’ailleurs sa formation d’avocat, jumelée à sa profonde foi personnelle, qui animait sa passion pour la justice sociale.

Parmi ses accomplissements, notons qu’il est devenu, en 1959, le premier Gouverneur général canadien-français, qu’il a connu une impressionnante carrière diplomatique de 1928 à 1953 et que, durant la Première Guerre mondiale, il a quitté la pratique du droit pour fonder le 22e bataillon du corps expéditionnaire canadien, devenu en 1920 le Royal 22e Régiment, qui a servi récemment en Afghanistan.

L’octroi de la plus haute distinction du Barreau de Montréal au Général Vanier représente un geste de solidarité envers les militaires qui servent le pays outre-mer et un geste de compassion envers toutes les familles québécoises qui ont perdu un être cher en Afghanistan lors de la rotation du Royal 22e Régiment.

Le bâtonnier de Montréal est fier de souligner cette brillante carrière dédiée à la cause de la justice en remettant à Georges P. Vanier, au nom de tous les membres, la Médaille du Barreau de Montréal.

SECTION RELIÉE