Write for Justice Contest

Edition 2024

The Bar of Montreal is holding it’s 37th edition of the “Write for Justice” literary essay contest. Below are the details of this annual contest open to elementary and high school students on the Island of Montreal.

The theme selected for this edition is the following:

“You have the possibility of proposing a new law or amending an existing one. What law would you propose or what law would you amend, and why?”

PRIZES : Winners will receive a sum of $200 offered by the Montreal Bar and Antidote, the most complete writing assistance software created and offered by Druide informatique. They will also be invited to visit the Montreal Courthouse and meet a judge on May 3, 2024. The visit will be followed by the award ceremony to be held in the Lawyers’ Lounge.

Kindly note that the deadline to submit the essays is March 25, 2024.

How to participate and new instructions

Teachers wishing to participate should indicate their interest by writing to the following e-mail address :


The teacher will be sent a link to the Docurium platform.

Instructions: The teacher will be sent a link to the Docurium platform. The participants’ texts must be submitted in the same format (PDF or Word) using the link, in the following order: completed registration form along with the parent or tutor’s consent for texts written by minors, followed by the text.


Félicitations aux gagnants :
Félicitations aux étudiants ayant reçu une mention spéciale :

Félicitations aux participants ayant obtenu une mention :

Merci aux écoles et aux enseignants participants :

Beacon Hill Elementary (Chadwick Dixon)
Collège Français Annexe Montréal (Elizaveta Rybakova)
Collège Jean-Eudes (Alexandre Dussault, Anne Fournel et André-Carl Vachon)
Collège Saint-Louis (Marie-Pierre Provost)
Collège Sainte-Anne (Mélissa Théberge)
Collège Sainte Marcelline (Michel Laroche)
École Arménienne Sourp Hagop (Jimmy Lew)
École Catherine-Soumillard (Marie-Claude Barrette)
École Internationale de Montréal (Catherine Duboc et Jean Renaud)
École Jonathan Wilson (Caroline Rioux)
École Le Savoir (Marie Bitar)
École Louis-Riel (Stéphane Gervais)
École Paul-Bruchési (Pascal Héon et Dominic Charbonneau-Besner)
École Pierre-de-Coubertin (Alexis Rainville-Pelletier)
École secondaire Antoine-de-Saint-Exupéry (Fannie Rivet, Valérie Théberge et Joël DesRoches-Landry)
École secondaire Cavelier-De LaSalle (Guillaume Lambert)
École Secondaire Lucien-Pagé (Richard Messier)
École Victor-Therrien (Sylvie Normandin)
Gardenview Elementary (Laure Bensoussan et Nina Wong)
Kuper Academy (Gregor Tedford, Marisa Machaca et Chelsea Wakeling)
Miss Edgar’s and Miss Cramp’s School (Marie-Ève Manseau)
Pensionnat du Saint-Nom-de-Marie (Philippe Legault)
Royal Vale School (Cynthia Bennett)
Selwyn House School (Robert Bouskill, Matt McCarney et Erin Russett)
St-George’s High School Montreal (Jeff Deeprose, Tatiana Reid)
The Study (Lesley Rosen, Daniel Fitzpatrick et France Gauthier)
Villa Saint-Marceline (Philippe Legault et Philippe Viroly-Desjardins)