Mission

monumentBarreaudeMontreal

Serving the whole of Montreal Island, the Bar of Montreal, with close to 14 500 members, is the largest of the 15 sections of the Barreau du Québec. It participates actively in the administration of justice through the Bâtonnier and councillors, who generously devote their time and efforts to the advancement of the profession. To do this, there are more than 40 committees with a total of more than 300 members, all working to reinforce the integrity and influence of the profession at all levels.

The Bar of Montreal contributes to the protection of the public by providing information and enhancing awareness of rights. A number of events involving various legal spheres have been developed over the years, such as Salon VISEZ DROIT, the “Write for Justice” essay contest and student debates.  These events are continuously refined to meet the needs of the public.

The Bar of Montreal helps the public find a lawyer through its Referral Service, whose purpose is to provide anyone who is able to pay the cost of legal services or eligible for legal aid but does not know a lawyer the name of a member who has registered for this service and is thus willing to provide an initial 30-minute consultation for a fixed fee of $30.

Finally, the Bar has developed and maintains special solidarity with colleagues who have less than 10 years of practice by providing significant financial support to the Young Bar of Montréal, whose representatives actively contribute to the activities of the committees and the Bar Council.

In short, the Montreal Bar with 160 years of history is moving RIGHT toward the future !

Mission

Couvrant tout le territoire de l'île de Montréal, le Barreau de Montréal, avec près de 14 500 membres, constitue la plus grande des 15 sections du Barreau du Québec. Il participe activement à l'administration de la justice grâce au bâtonnier et aux conseillers qui consacrent généreusement leur temps et leurs efforts au développement de la profession. Pour ce faire, plus de 40 comités, au sein desquels siègent plus de 300 membres, travaillent activement à maintenir l'intégrité et le rayonnement de la profession à tous les niveaux.

Le Barreau de Montréal contribue à la protection du public en l'informant et en le sensibilisant à ses droits. Plusieurs outils touchant différentes sphères juridiques, ont été développés au fil des ans, tels que le Salon et les Conférences VISEZ DROIT, le concours « La justice a bonne mine » et les Débats oratoires. Ces outils sont constamment redéfinis pour répondre aux besoins du public.

Le Barreau de Montréal aide le public à trouver un avocat par le biais de son Service de référence, dont la raison d'être est de fournir à toute personne capable d'assumer les frais de services juridiques ou admissible à l'aide juridique et qui ne connaît pas d'avocat, le nom d'un membre inscrit au service disposé à donner une consultation initiale de 30 minutes contre paiement d'un honoraire fixe de 30 $.

Enfin, le Barreau développe et entretient une solidarité particulière avec les confrères et consoeurs de moins de 10 ans de pratique, par l'appui financier significatif accordé au Jeune Barreau de Montréal, dont les représentants contribuent activement aux activités des comités et du Conseil du Barreau.

Bref, le Barreau de Montréal, c'est 160 ans d'histoire, tout DROIT vers l'avenir !