2003-2004 L'honorable Charles D. Gonthier

 

images/Photos/MedaillesMerites/CDGONTHIERFor 2002-2003, the Council of the Bar of Montréal has decided to present the Medal to the Honorable Charles D. Gonthier, of the Superior Court of Canada.

A law graduate of McGill University, Judge Gonthier practiced law from 1952 to 1974, with major Montreal law firms.  In 1974, he was appointed to the Superior Court, where he would sit until 1988. He was then named to the Court of Appeal of Québec and, less than a year later, to the Supreme Court of Canada, from which he recently retired to return to the practice of law.

During his impressive career, Judge Gonthier participated in the work of a number of Bar committees. He has also been very deeply involved in the arts, especially the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and the McCord Museum of Canadian History.

When the Université de Montréal presented him with an honorary doctorate in October 2002, the Dean of the Faculty of Law, Mtre Jacques Frémont, paid tribute to the influence of Judge Gonthier on Canadian law as follows:  “His intellectual qualities make him one of the most highly esteemed Canadian judges and without doubt one of the most influential.  The rigour, daring and humanism of his judgments have clearly marked the development of Canadian law, and done so in the most diverse fields.”

The Bâtonnier of Montréal is proud to honor a brilliant career dedicated to the cause of justice by presenting to this eminent jurist, on behalf of all members, with the highest distinction of the Bar of Montréal.

 
RELATED SECTION

2003-2004 L'honorable Charles D. Gonthier

 

images/Photos/MedaillesMerites/CDGONTHIERPour l'année 2002-2003, le Conseil du Barreau de Montréal a décidé de remettre la Médaille à l’honorable Charles D. Gonthier, de la Cour suprême du Canada.

Diplômé en droit de l’Université McGill, le juge Gonthier a pratiqué le droit de 1952 à 1974, au sein de grands cabinets montréalais. En 1974, il fut nommé à la Cour supérieure où il siégea jus­qu’en 1988. Il accéda ensuite à la Cour d’appel du Québec et, moins d’un an plus tard, à la Cour Suprême du Canada, d’où il a pris sa retraite tout récemment pour revenir à la pra­tique du droit.

Au cours de son impressionnante carrière, le juge Gonthier a participé aux travaux de plu­sieurs comités du Barreau. Il s’est aussi beau­coup impliqué dans le domaine des arts, par­ti­cu­lièrement auprès du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et du Musée McCord d’histoire cana­dienne.

Alors que l’Université de Montréal lui remettait un doctorat honoris causa, en octobre 2002, le doyen de la faculté de droit, Me Jacques Frémont a souligné comme suit l’influence du juge Gonthier sur le droit canadien : « Ses qualités intellectuelles en font l’un des juges canadiens les plus estimés et sans doute l’un des plus influents. Par la rigueur, l’audace et l’humanisme de ses jugements, il a marqué de façon nette le développement du droit canadien, et cela dans les domaines les plus divers. »

Le bâtonnier de Montréal est fier de souligner une brillante carrière dédiée à la cause de la justice en remettant à cet éminent juriste, au nom de tous les membres, la plus haute distinction du Barreau de Montréal.

SECTION RELIÉE