International Commercial Arbitration: Is it Cheaper and Better?

The Bar of Montreal and the Philadelphia Bar Association – CAIJ Conference
Training by a recognized provider for the purposes of mandatory continuing education – 2 hours

September 06 2017, from 16:00 to 18:00

Location: 
Gowling WLG (1, Place Ville-Marie, 37e étage, Montréal)
Montreal, QC


The Bar of Montreal and the Philadelphia Bar Association – CAIJ Conference, organized by the International Relations committee (Bar of Montreal) and the International Law Committee (Philadelphia Bar Association), presentation followed by a cocktail

  Deadline for cancellations with reimbursement: August 31, 2017                             

 

For those who have missed the conference in Montreal, the event will be repeated in Philadelphia on October 4th.
For more information

International Commercial Arbitration has emerged over the past few years as a tool of choice for resolving international disputes. The finality of decisions and the possibility of seeking enforcement in other jurisdictions greatly contribute to its popularity. But at what cost?

During this panel, Mr. Fabien Gélinas, Ad.E. (Full Professor, Sir William C. Macdonald Chair, Faculty of Law, McGill University, Montreal), Mr. Jeremy Heep (partner, Pepper Hamilton LLP, Philadelphia), Mr. Michael J. Carrato (Vice President, Legal and Compliance Departement for North America,, Alstom, New York), Ms. Annie Lespérance (lawyer, Cabinet Yves Fortier, Montreal) and Mr. Daniel Urbas (arbitrator and lawyer, Urbas Arbitration, Montreal) will provide an overview of international commercial arbitration that will interest both lawyers already practising in arbitration than lawyers who want to discover this area of practice.

Speakers:

  • Mr. Fabien Gélinas, Ad.E. Full Professor, Sir William C. Macdonald Chair, Faculty of Law McGill University (Montreal), member of the Barreau du Québec. Mr. Gélinas teaches and conducts research in the areas of international dispute resolution, common law and civil law contracts, commercial law and legal theory. Arbitrator, expert and consultant on dispute resolution and legal reform, Mr. Gélinas is president of the Arbitration Committee of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce and ICC Canada.
  • Mr. Jeremy Heep, partner, Pepper Hamilton LLP (Philadelphia), member of the District of Columbia Bar (Pennsylvania). Mr. Heep’s practice covers the full range of commercial litigation, with particular emphasis on antitrust and international arbitration. Recognized by his peers, Mr. Heep is the co-chair of the Philadelphia Bar Association’s International Law Committee, and a board member of the French-American Chamber of Commerce (Philadelphia Chapter).
  • Mr. Michael J. Carrato, Vice President, Legal and Compliance Department for North America, Alstom (New York). Mr. Carrato provides legal and compliance support to Alstom’s North American Transport Sector while managing a team of lawyers and contract managers. He has a rich and diversified professional experience, which includes business matters in Canada since he has been involved in all Alstom’s recent key commercial successes and some of their flagship projects like the Montréal metro. Mr. Carrato holds a bachelor of science in civil engineering from Virginia Tech and a juris doctor from Seton Hall University School of Law.
  • Ms. Annie Lespérance, lawyer, Cabinet Yves Fortier (Montreal), member of the Barreau du Québec and Paris bar. Ms. Lespérance practices in international arbitration and, prior to joining Cabinet Yves Fortier, acted as Assistant Legal Counsel at the Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague. Ms. Lespérance sits on the boards of directors of the Canadian Council of International Law and the United Nations Association Canada (Montreal Branch).
  • Mr. Daniel Urbas, arbitrator and lawyer, Urbas Arbitration (Montreal), member of the Barreau du Québec, the Law Societys of Upper-Canada, British Columbia and Newfoundland and Labrador. Mr. Urbas is Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (CIArb), based in London, as well as a founding director of the CIArb’s new Canada Branch. Experienced arbitrator, lecturer and author, Mr. Urbas was named in the Best Lawyers in Canada editions of 2014-2016.

*Training by a recognized provider for the purposes of mandatory continuing education – 2 hours.
An attestation of attendance will be emailed after the activity.

Signups closed for this activity

International Commercial Arbitration: Is it Cheaper and Better?

Conférence Barreau de Montréal et Philadelphia Bar Association — CAIJ
Formation d’un dispensateur reconnu aux fins de la formation continue obligatoire – 2 h

06 septembre 2017, de 16 h 00 à 18 h 00

Emplacement: 
Gowling WLG (1, Place Ville-Marie, 37e étage, Montréal)
Montréal, QC


Conférence Barreau de Montréal et Philadelphia Bar Association — CAIJ, organisée par le comité sur le Rayonnement international (Barreau de Montréal) et l’International Law Committee (Philadelphia Bar Association), suivie d’un cocktail*

  Date limite pour annulation avec remboursement: 31 août 2017                             

 

Pour celles et ceux qui auraient manqué la conférence à Montréal, l’activité sera répétée à Philadelphie le 4 octobre prochain.
Pour en savoir plus

L’arbitrage commercial international s’est imposé depuis quelques années en tant qu’outil de choix permettant de résoudre les différends. La finalité des décisions et la possibilité d’en rechercher l’exécution dans d’autres États ou territoires contribuent grandement à sa popularité. Mais à quel coût?

Au cours de ce panel, Me Fabien Gélinas, Ad.E. (professeur titulaire, Chaire Sir William C. Macdonald, faculté de droit de l’Université McGill, Montréal), M. Jeremy Heep (associé, Pepper Hamilton LLP, Philadelphie), M. Michael J. Carrato (vice-président des affaires juridiques et gestion des contrats, division nord-américaine d’Alstom, New York), Me Annie Lespérance (avocate, Cabinet Yves Fortier, Montréal) et Me Daniel Urbas (arbitre et avocat, Urbas Arbitrage, Montréal) feront un tour d’horizon de l’arbitrage commercial international, qui intéressera tant les avocats qui pratiquent en arbitrage que ceux qui veulent découvrir cette avenue du droit.

Conférenciers :

  • Me Fabien Gélinas, Ad.E., professeur titulaire de la Chaire Sir William C. Macdonald à la faculté de droit de l’Université McGill (Montréal), membre du Barreau du Québec. Me Gélinas enseigne dans les domaines de l’arbitrage et du droit des contrats et du commerce en droit civil et en common law. Arbitre, conseil et expert reconnu internationalement, Me Gélinas est le président du Comité d’arbitrage de la Chambre de commerce du Canada et ICC Canada.
  • M. Jeremy Heep, associé chez Pepper Hamilton LLP (Philadelphie), membre du Barreau du District de Columbia (Pennsylvanie). La pratique de M. Heep se concentre en litige commercial, et plus particulièrement en arbitrage international. Avocat reconnu par ses pairs et conférencier recherché, M. Heep est coprésident de l’International Law Committee de la Philadelphia Bar Association et siège au Conseil d’administration de la French-American Chamber of Commerce (Philadelphia Chapter).
  • M. Michael J. Carrato, vice-président des affaires juridiques et gestion des contrats pour la division nord-américaine d’Alstom (New York). M. Carrato fournit un soutien juridique et de conformité à la division nord-américaine d'Alstom Transport tout en gérant une équipe d'avocats et de gestionnaires de contrats. Il a une expérience professionnelle riche et diversifiée, qui comprend des affaires commerciales au Canada, ayant été impliqué dans les récents succès commerciaux clés d’Alstom et certains de ses projets phares, comme le métro de Montréal. M. Carrato a obtenu son baccalauréat en génie civil à la Virginia Tech et son juris doctor de la Seton Hall University School of Law.
  • Me Annie Lespérance, avocate au Cabinet Yves Fortier (Montréal), membre des barreaux du Québec et de Paris. Me Lespérance pratique le droit dans le domaine de l’arbitrage international et, avant de se joindre au Cabinet Yves Fortier, a agi en tant que conseillère juridique adjointe auprès de la Cour permanente d’arbitrage à La Haye. Me Lespérance siège également aux conseils d’administration du Conseil canadien de droit international et de l’Association canadienne pour les Nations Unies (section Grand-Montréal).
  • Me Daniel Urbas, arbitre et avocat chez Urbas Arbitrage (Montréal), membre des barreaux du Québec, du Haut-Canada, de la Colombie-Britannique et de Terre-Neuve et Labrador. Me Urbas est membre du Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (CIArb), basé à Londres, et est l’un des administrateurs fondateurs du CIArb Canada. Arbitre expérimenté, conférencier et auteur, Me Urbas a notamment été nommé dans les éditions 2014-2016 de Best Lawyers in Canada.

* Cette activité sera dispensée en anglais, mais les questions pourront être posées aux panélistes en anglais et en français.

**Formation d’un dispensateur reconnu aux fins de la formation continue obligatoire – 2 h.
Une attestation de présence sera transmise par courriel après l’activité.

Les inscriptions sont fermées pour cette activité.